Flashback Friday: Cynda Williams

Cynda Williams, born Cynthia Williams in Chicago, burst on to the scene in Spike Lee’s 1990 film Mo’ Better  Blues. She played the beautiful and complicated Clarke Betancourt. Two years later she starred in the thriller One False Move.

From that meteoric start Cynda’s career seemed to have settled into mostly supporting roles. Which is a shame since Cynda is an amazingly charismatic and beautiful actor.

Since her film debut Cynda has done more than 20 films and countless television guest starring roles. Her latest film, released in 2012, is Turning Point which stars Ernie Hudson.

Cynda with Denzel in Mo’ Better Blues

According to Cynda’s Facebook page she continues to act on stage and in film. And, the talented Cynda Williams is also an accomplished singer. Check out her classic performance singing Harlem Blues from the film Mo’ Better Blues below.

I’ve always thought that Cynda was one of the most underrated actors in the business. I look forward to seeing her for many years to come.

Did you see One False Move?
What did you think of Cynda in Mo’Better Blues?

20 thoughts on “Flashback Friday: Cynda Williams

  1. I really liked her in Mo Betta Blues. I remember One False Move too. I thought that she, Michael Beach and Billy Bob were good in that too. When I think of Cynda though, I think of her singing Harlem Blues.

  2. Saw her in both films… (her singing Harlem Blues was definitely one of those stand out moments) plus she was in that Dorothy Dandridge HBO film w/ Halle B. She’s very good when given the chance to be. Sadly, she doesn’t work as much as should. I was very SHOCKED, bordering on DISBELIEF… to learn that she & BBT were actually a married COUPLE at one time. Wow! Just… just WOW!

    One.

    • Lol. Yeah, I knew she was married to Billy Bob. And, she was married to another guy after Billy Bob. She’s married again, since 2001, to a former football player. They have a daughter.

  3. I remember Cynda in a couple of the roles listed, certainly the one co-starring Denzel. I used to watch all the time. Yes, she definitely played a complicated character in that film.

  4. I’m in the minority here, but I thought her film performance of Harlem Blues sounded horrible. I like her as an actress though, who can forget her performance as Clarke Bentancourt in Mo’ Betta Blues? I also remember her role as Dorthy Dandridge’s sister in Introducing Dorthy Dandridge.

  5. I remember her in Mo Better Blues and I remember her in the Dorothy Dandridge story. I think she played the sister that was jealous of Halle Berry’s character.

  6. In ‘Mo Better? My homeboy was working at MCA at the time so we went to an advance screening. She killed that part and her looks never hurt. In ‘OFM’? I just watched HER. The scene that killed me was when that kid walked up to a guy lying in the road and asked, ‘Hey mister… Are you dead?’ – I cracked up…

    • There are quite a few good scenes in One False Move. She played her role with a nice understatement.

      Yep, she was beautiful in Mo’ Better Blues.

Leave a comment