The freedom of not giving a f**k!

Last Saturday I had a short presentation to make for work. It wasn’t anything too involved. It would only take 10 minutes or so. But, it was going to be in front of about 70 people.

I hate public speaking. I mean I really hate it. Or maybe it’s the lead up to the public speaking I really hate. Whichever it is the result is I get really stressed out in the days leading up to having to speak in front of people.

So, all last week I was stressed. In the beginning of the week I felt the stress but wasn’t really aware of why I was stressed. As the week went on and Thursday came around I was keenly aware of why. On Friday I was really feeling it.

Mind you, I was fully prepared. My little presentation hardly even required much prep work as it was on a subject I’m pretty versed in. Did that stop me from having a real bad case of nerves? Nope.

The girlfriend was great. She reassured me. And in those moments when she did the stress washed away. But, soon after, when her encouraging words were only a echos in my head, the nervousness returned.

On Saturday I woke to a bad case of nerves and pouring rain. Oh great. We’ve had a really dry winter here and I’d been wishing for rain for months but why did that wish have to be answered just then, I thought.

I had breakfast. Got my cheat notes together. And prepared to go.

Then something amazing happened. I thought to myself that in the larger scheme of things this little speech I had to give didn’t really amount to much. I remember thinking that in 20 years if someone brought it up to me I more than likely wouldn’t even remember it.

And, that’s when the magic happened. Suddenly, out of nowhere, I just stop giving a fcuk! All that stress gone. Just like that.

The girlfriend drove me and we enjoyed the coziness of all the rain and talked about getting back home and hunkering down and watching a movie. Fun! I didn’t even think about what I was about to do.

She dropped me off. I went in. I was third to speak. I listened to the two speakers before me. And, when it was my turn I calmly walked to the podium. I gave my little talk. After I asked if anyone had any questions. A few people had some. I answered them.

And I was done!

I hung around for a bit after it was over and spoke to a few people and then I left. The Girlfriend was waiting for me in the car and we hauled azz home!

Oh the wonderful freedom of not giving a fcuk!

 

 

Does public speaking stress you out?
Have you learned the art of not giving a fcuk?

11 thoughts on “The freedom of not giving a f**k!

  1. “Oh the wonderful freedom of not giving a fcuk!”

    Hilarious. But oh so true. I believe we all should keep more than a few “Eff It” cards in our back pocket and kindly pull them out, here and there. I honestly cannot see going thru life without ’em.

    On a side note, I like how you post those moving gifs. It really adds to your post.

  2. My daughter a photo on her Instagram that says, “I’m not an asshole, I just don’t give a fuck a lot” that pretty much sums it all up. It’s a shame that we’re considered assholes because we won’t fuss, stress, of act a fool over a situation. Not giving a fuck is often extremely liberating ^5

  3. Oh yeah, there was a time when it would have bothered me too…..but that’s been years ago. I’ve facilitated so many team meetings and trainings and participated in so many conference calls; as well as, speaking before groups of people that it just doesn’t bother me anymore.

    One thing I will do is obsess over work to the point of being stressed………and unable to sleep; but that never has anything to do with public speaking. On that, I’ve seriously gotta do better.

    Like you, I don’t give a f**k so it makes it so much easier.

  4. I’ve never stressed about public speaking. Probably because my parents pushed me into school plays and other performances since birth…lol
    I used to stress out on the jobs I had before I became a nurse.
    At the age of 51,I pretty much say fcuk it to everything!:)

      • It’s so liberating! 🙂 I find that a lot of people can’t handle the fact that, I just don’t give a shit.

Leave a Reply

