The Great Peppermint Iced Tea Discovery

What’s that old saying, necessity is the mother of invention? Welp, it’s true. This week was one of those weeks I didn’t have the whatever it takes to deal with grocery shopping. So, I was scrounging around the cupboards trying to whip up dinner from whatever was on hand.

On Wednesday we ran out of sparkling water. That was a real loss as we drink that stuff with dinner most of the time during the week. What to do? Well early in the day whilst making lunch I decided to have some nice hot peppermint tea. But, it occurred to me that maybe iced peppermint tea was the answer to my sparking water dilemma. Which was drinking plain old tap water or having something hot to drink with dinner.

So, I made the tea, then added sugar, let it cool and then put it in the freezer. And, 30 minutes later, voilà! Iced peppermint tea. And it was so amazingly refreshing. The problem of what to drink with dinner was solved.

What’s interesting though is that I’ve never been a fan of iced tea. Or as they call it in the Southern United States, sweet tea. I’m not sure why they call it sweet tea. I mean do people drink cold tea with no sugar?

Anywhoo, I’ve never been a fan of iced tea. I mean I could drink it but it would never be my first choice. It’s always had a slightly bitter aftertaste which I didn’t particularly like.

So imagine my surprise when my peppermint iced tea experiment turned out so well! But, alas, today is Friday and I can no longer put off grocery shopping. So, even though the Girlfriend and I enjoyed a couple of dinners with peppermint iced tea, it’s time to get back to the sparkling water.

Do you like iced tea?
Have you had peppermint iced tea?
What do you normally drink with dinner?

 

8 thoughts on “The Great Peppermint Iced Tea Discovery

  1. I have tasted Peppermint tea,and do like it, the iced though sounds fabulous! Must try.

    I like most teas. I will drink tea at least once a week, specially since you told me that tip about drinking warm tea on hot days,that it would cool me off. Well I tried it in the evenings, and it does have a slight cooling effect!

    I normally drink water with my food 🙂

  2. Well I live in the south, so iced tea is served practically everywhere here. I love tea. I drink it hot and cold. I’ve never made peppermint tea, but mint and limes probably match well together. I can see myself trying that.

    I usually drink water with my dinner when I’m at home. I usually have a pitcher of water with sliced lemons and limes in it in my refrigerator. Come to think of it, it’s high time I changed the fruit out.

  3. Mint Tea.. That’s Double-O.G for some down here in the Souff. I’m not a fan but many of my older renters drink it like it’s grape kool-aid.

  4. I’ve never drank peppermint tea but I had more than a few glasses of sweet tea in my childhood (grandmother fixed sweet tea with lunch and dinner without fail it seems, lol), so that was that. Matter of fact I don’t think I ever tasted a soft drink until I was around. 13 or 14. Nowadays I usually drink water and lemonade and soft drinks with dinner. I also drink tap water, especially after I learned that bottled water is pretty much tap water with a price tag.

  5. What a great accident! Peppermint iced tea sounds very refreshing. I like mint tea, so I’m sure it would still settle well if it was cold tea. I usually drink orange juice with everything, including dinner. I need to drink more water.Or maybe just have more mint leaves available to add to that water, problem is they go bad quick.

Leave a Reply

