Random thoughts…

Here are a few random things on my mind at the moment.

01. Remember when I asked what you thought Anthony Wiener‘s chance of winning the New York City mayors race? I think most said they wouldn’t vote for him. So, guess what, Wiener is now leading the polls in the mayors race. Lol. I told you guys that New York politics is crazy. And not only is Wiener in the lead but the former Governor Eliot Spitzer, who had to resign after a prostitution scandal, is running for NYC comptroller.

02.  I’m sure all of you have heard about the airplane crash out here over the weekend. Amazingly all but two people survived the crash. It’s going to be interesting to find out what caused the crash. Anyway, on Saturday when the crash happened I almost missed the news. That’s because when I turned the TV on a little after noon and saw the Breaking News graphic on the screen I ignored it and changed the channel only to see it again on another local channel. That’s when I listened to see what happened.

But, the local news stations use the Breaking News graphic so much that I’ve started to ignore it. That’s because when they say it’s breaking news it almost never is. When something happened hours ago, it’s no longer breaking news. But, obviously local news stations use the Breaking News graphics as a marketing tool rather than a true alert to breaking news.

And, sure enough on Sunday, 24 hours after the crash, they still had the Breaking News graphic on the screen.

03. One final thing about the airplane crash. Today on the news, both national and local, I’ve seen the reporters calling the flight attendants who helped the passengers off the plane “heroes“. So, I’m thinking that helping passengers in an emergency situation is what flight attendants are paid to do. That’s their real function on a plane. So, if you are paid to do a job and you do it, are you a hero? Are firefighters heroes every time the put out a blaze? Are paramedics heroes every time they save a life? All of these people, in my opinion, are to be admired and brave, but, are they really heroes?

What do you think?
Are you surprised Anthony Weiner is leading the NYC mayoral race?
Do your local TV news stations overuse “Breaking News” too?
Are people who get paid to help people in emergencies heroes?

36 thoughts on “Random thoughts…

  1. I remember when his “scandal” first broke. I wrote a blog post about how I thought that it was sad to think that he would fall because of what he had done. In the scheme of things, compared to what so many others have done…………but, Val, there’s pictures of this man’s dick online.

    I remenber all the late night hosts having a good time roasting his ass, with the quick one liners. Some of them were downright funny…….

    “Weiner said about New York, ‘Nobody will work harder to make it better.’ As opposed to his first campaign promise, which was ‘Nobody will work better to make it harder.'” –Jay Leno

    “A new poll found that former congressman Anthony Weiner only has a 15 percent chance of winning the race for New York City mayor. Although in his defense, he’s a grower not a shower.” –Jimmy Fallon

    “Former Congressman Anthony Weiner is back on Twitter. It’s like giving Lindsay Lohan the keys to the mini bar.” –David Letterman

    “Anthony Weiner is making a comeback. He is tan, flaccid and ready. He wants to come back and maybe be the mayor of New York. There are only two things standing in his way: an unforgiving public and Instagram.” –Bill Maher

    “After withdrawing from public life Anthony Weiner is ready to stick it back in. Folks, that takes balls. Sadly, we know he has them.” –Stephen Colbert

    Congressman Anthony Weiner has announced that he will be stepping down. I guess he couldn’t stick it out any longer.” –Jay Leno

    “Congressman Weiner has resigned from office. One minute he’s in, one minute he’s out … typical Weiner.” -Jimmy Fallon

    “On ‘Good Morning America’ yesterday, President Obama said that he’s confident that Anthony Weiner will bounce back. Great that’s all we need, a bouncing Weiner.” —Jimmy Fallon

    “I’m not certain of a lot of things. But there are three things in this world that I know for certain: Empire Strikes Back is the best Star Wars movie. OJ killed those people. And what my erect penis looks like in my own underwear from a bird’s-eye view.” –Jon Stewart, on Rep. Anthony Weiner’s claim that he could ‘can’t say with certitude’ whether a photo posted on his Twitter account of a man wearing just boxer shorts was actually him

    “I see only two options here: Either Anthony Weiner has too many photos of his junk to keep track of, or ‘Certitiude’ is his nickname for his penis.” –Stephen Colbert

    “Anthony Weiner pledges to get to the bottom of this. He’s asked for an investigation, the police are involved, he’s got a dick lawyer he’s hired. They know it is a Democrat’s penis because it won’t stand up. And also because it was sent to a woman.” –Bill Maher

    This stuff is hilarious……and Val,no matter what he ever does again, people will never forget this. I do believe in redemption though, I think he should be given a second chance, but if he sends out just one more picture of his dick……………….

  2. Now as far as Eliot Spitzer is concerned, I believe it was Marion Barry who proved that you could do the hookers and the blow on tape and stay in office.

    There is just something about paying for sex that says……….I’m ugly, but I’m getting laid.

    • I was just about to write something very similar. Barry show us a lot! Val,I’m not surprised he’s leading the polls. I do agree with Reg…that is some funny stuff!
      As for the flight attendants, they get paid to do that stuff. It’s their job. I’m not a hero every time I save a life. It’s my profession,it comes with the job.

      • I’m not surprised either, BC. He has more name recognition than the other candidates. Plus, New Yorkers don’t care about him sending sex tweets.

        I agree. If it’s your job then you aren’t a hero. If you are Joe Blow walking down the street and see a house on fire and you run in a save people, then you are a hero.

    • Yeah, but, Marion Barry has some kind of magic spell on Washington, D.C. Lol. He’s gotten away with a ton of stuff. I think Kwame Kilpatrick was trying to be the new Marion.

      • But here’s the DIFFERENCE Though…

        Marion Smoked Crack-n-Sexed His Hookers while Kwame was having His Big-Mouth Skrippers MURKED Though (MmmHmm…) TWO of Them came up MISSING (No Joke…) O_o

      • Yeah, ELove, I read about those parties at the Mayor’s Mansion in Detroit. What the heck was he thinking.

        So, what’s the word on those missing women? Are they trying to charge Kilpatrick with something to do with their disappearances?

      • NOPE… Just another UNSOLVED CRIME and His Personal Bodyguards/People help cover-up HIS Involvement with SAID Skrippers TOO Though #SMDH

  3. Greetings Val:

    Question 1: Still scratching my nappy over this one, Val. Even some of his main political allies no longer speak his name, after he’d so deeply disappointed them… or more like their embarrassed asses feared his actions would reflect badly upon THEM… so they jumped him like that proverbial hot potato.

    The reality is, not only did he show bad judgment by revealing his erect peen on Twitter, but he then LIED about it, faked outrage, made up scenarios, & when more stuff came out that made it obvious & he could NOT lie any more, only then did he came clean (no pun). So that speaks not only to his weakness (which everyone has to some degree) but his arrogance & complete lack of HONESTLY. Way to represent, Ween!

    Now he’s ‘ahead’ in the polls? No figure.

    Maybe it’s a case of people SAYING one thing, & doing the opposite in the privacy of a voting booth?

    Meanwhile, former governor Spitzer was a complete hypocrite who spent much of his time in office prosecuting johns, while he himself actively visiting prostitutes.

    The nerve of these lying, arrogant, duplicitous mofos! Yet another case of politics as usual.

    Question 2: Yes. Far too many.

    Question 3: No. Not unless one boldly goes above & behold what’s called for in their job description.

    One.

    • Yep, Lin, Weiner lied, I think mainly to keep out of trouble with his wife though. But, the lying is the worst part. With Spitzer he is a total hypocrite. I’m not sure if NY will forget that so soon.

      #3 – Exactly!

  4. With Wiener, more so than those photos, which should be a no no for public officials that like it or not, have to set an example. I think what I found offensive was that he was cheating on his pregnant wife! How much love can you have for a woman that is pregnant with your child, in a far away land doing her job, and here you are texting sexually with another woman? WTF? No feelings at all.

    As for Spitzer, well he’s just a client on some madams list, and some men can only get off with sex workers and that’s a fact of life. Again, not capable of deep attachment or deep sentiment?

    I wouldn’t vote for someone like that to govern me, that’s for sure!

    • The most confounding thing to me about the Weiner incident is that his beautiful and brilliant and successful wife Huma stuck with him. I’ll never understand that.

      Yeah, Spitzer is kind of a creepy guy. I wonder what else he does secretly.

      • I agree about Spitzer, totally 🙂

        As for Huma, I’m thinking she really loved him, she was pregnant and I guess he apologized in such a way that she gave him another chance? But I don’t think he’ll get another one if he messes up again,:)

      • “But I don’t think he’ll get another one if he messes up again,:)”

        Yeah, I’m pretty sure his get out of jail free card has been revoked. Lol

  5. The “breaking news” banner is definitely not being used appropriately. I really don’t know if it’s ‘breaking’ or not so I stick around to see if it is, and I guess that’s why they do it 🙂

    No I don’t think they are heroes, it’s there job. But those terms are tossed around so loosely on tv these days…it’s like they want to embellish the story any way they can

    • Yep, that’s exactly why the TV stations do it. It’s really deceptive.

      You’re right, TV news people use so much hype making people into heroes that it’s becoming hard to appreciate real heroes.

  6. Apparently we think alike cause I saw where the two women were cited as heroes and I too wondered what was so heroic about people doing what their job requires. If that’s the case, they were heroes long before the plane crashed. Lol. I do believe they should be recognized for their efforts, but no “heroes.”

    You know how the media does though. Ratings.

    I also saw where it was suggested that some people were more concerned about getting their luggage and holding up lines, instead of moving quickly and assuring everyone is saved. All of which is hilarious. I would’ve been pushing everyone trying to get their bags out of the way in an effort to exit that plane crash.

    • Lol. I heard a lady who was on the flight being interview on local news here and she talked about how she grabbed her kid and her bag and got off the plane.

      • Let me add that I am shocked to find how this was the first time the pilot had flown a plane of that size. Lol. What in the world? And they didn’t bother to inform the passengers before they boarded the plane?

      • Lol. That’s true. But, to be fair, he was a Captain. In fact both of the pilots were Captains. The one sitting in the second seat was senior on this flight. You’re right though, it’s kind of a sign that maybe he needed more simulator time. Lol

  7. @Don SAID “If that’s the case, they were heroes long before the plane crashed. ”

    And That’s HOW I FEEL Bout This…

    Individuals who go into THAT LINE Of Service and WHOLEHEARTEDLY LUV What They’re Doing are HEROES… Not just for an INDIVIDUAL ACT but Their Commitment to THEIR CRAFT of Helping people In NEED Though (YUPPP…)

  8. Ohh And… “BREAKING NEWZ” —–> Val has YET ANOTHER Outstanding and Thought-Provoking Post Though (MmmHmm…) ;-D

  9. Only in America can white men caught up in shameful sex scandals, get a second chance and regroup and become successful. Black men not so much. But maybe I should take that back. Marion Barry had the support of the Black people in D.C. so I guess it’s possible. I might be wrong about the Marion Berry ordeal though.

    • I think Bill Clinton set the stage for these sort of comebacks. But, you’re right, it would be a lot harder and in most cases impossible for a Black politician to comeback after this sort of scandal. I think Marion Barry is a special case. And, D.C. was a special kind of city back then. And also Marion had a whole lot of positive history behind him at that point.

  10. Oh Lawd! Val did you catch Weiner’s press conference today? He was still at it AFTER he resigned and said ha was sorry! Guy has no shame whatsoever!!! He’s got a lotta nerve to be running. and that wife…Iono bout her….

    • Yeah, I saw that travesty. There’s nothing he can do to surprise me but, I was really disappointed in Huma. I mean why is she staying with him!? He sent more texts after he resigned?! Like you, I don’t know about her anymore. I think she might have some issues. Serious issues.

      • I think it’s all about the power and the money. The prospect of being up there on easy street is more compelling to these women than any sort of moral or dignity issue, not to even mention love. They are both birds of a feather. But honestly, I think she is even less moral than him! these are the type of people that run for office!
        I wouldn’t be surprised if she was the one that pushed him to run for office! Amoral skank!

Leave a Reply

