Val’s Netflix Recommendations

So, as you may remember, I finally have Netflix. And, I have been really enjoying it. It is a wonderful alternative to way over-priced cable, which I haven’t had since 2008.

Anyway, I thought I would share some great films and docs I’ve seen on Netflix recently. I hope you will feel free to make some recommendations to me as well.

01. The World Unseen – This is a love story set in 1950’s South Africa. It stars the amazingly beautiful Sheetal Seth (above) and Lisa Ray. It follows two ethnically Indian, South African women as they deal with the restrictions and abuses of apartheid while developing a special friendship.

02. El Infierno – This is a Mexican gangster film with a lot of twists and turns. For some reason this film is marketed as a comedy but it is decidedly not. There are funny situations but this is a film about Narcos, Mexico’s political corruption and love. Warning, it is very violent. And the film is in Spanish so there are subtitles.

03. Carrier – This is a series about life on board a naval aircraft carrier. It follows a number of different sailors and aviators throughout their time at sea. The series is very honest and doesn’t pull any punches about life in the navy or on board a carrier. The series is definitely not a recruitment project.

04. ESPN Films: Unguarded – This documentary is part of ESPN’s 30 for 30 series on different sports topics. This particular one is about former pro basketball player Chris Herren and his struggles with substance abuse. The feature documents his rise as a high school star and his troubled college and pro careers.

05. Religulous – I’m not really a Bill Maher fan. In fact I think most times he’s a somewhat racist idiot. But, he hits it out of the park in his documentary about questioning the worlds religions. Maher travels around the U.S. and world asking religious people, scholars and clergy about their faith, religious teachings and much more. If you are religious and are easily hurt by people who question religion and religious faith then this isn’t the doc for you. But, if you have an open mind and want to learn a thing or three about religion then this is a great doc to see.

I hope you get a chance to check out these films. If you do please let me know what you thought of them And, I hope you have some Netflix film recommendations for me as well.

29 thoughts on “Val’s Netflix Recommendations

      • Lol. No offense, Reggie. I just didn’t know if you were into romance type films. Although there are a lot of other elements to The World Unseen. Check it out and let me know what you think. 🙂

  1. Always been a fan of alternative programming/ entertainment & the like… so you’re making me consider this whole Netflix thing. The prior to this, I’d only heard of Religulous. Appreciate the headz up, Valentina. 😀

    One.

    • It’s only 7.99 a month, Lin. That’s why I decided to go ahead and sign up. So far I’ve really enjoyed it.

      You’re welcome! 🙂

  2. I don’t watch his show either but the Religulous looks interesting. I like that type of film. Netflix sounds okay, might look into that 🙂

  3. I don’t know why I’m still paying for Netflix. I never watch it. I bet the minute I stop, I’m gonna want to watch something!
    Val, for some reason, I’m not getting your posts through wordpress. Anyone else having the same trouble?

  4. We just made it home and I saw this notification in my email, so I’m about to check out The World Unseen before I fall asleep. It looks to be an interesting film. I watched Unguarded and although I’ve been an NBA fanatic for a long time now, I had never heard of Chris beforehand. The story in the film where Celtics took a chance on the kid and he continued getting high (during games) was mind blowing. Eventually, I plan to check out Bill Maher as well. Lately, I’ve watched a bunch of docs discussing The Great Pyramind, Titanic ship, UFO, etc. that are very entertaining in their own right.

    Did you ever watch Loving Annabelle? If so, did she or did she not do her thing and seduce the teacher? Lol.

    • So, what did you think of The World Unseen? I have almost watched Loving Annabelle a ton of times. Lol. Maybe I’ll go ahead and watch it this weekend on your recommendation.

      Yeah, Chris Herren got a lot of breaks. More than his share for sure.

      I’m watching a lot of docs too. I watched 9.79 recently, which is about track athlete Ben Johnson and how he got busted for using steroids after he broke the 100 meter world record in the Olympics. It was really good. Also, I watched the 30 for 30 about Ricky Williams. That was really good too.

      • I tried watching The World Unseen, but I fell asleep. Not cause it was boring, I was sleepy before starting the movie. I will try again and let you know. 30 For 30 documentaries are so good. I watched both that you listed. Ricky Williams was kind of strange seeing how he was completely different than I initially imagined. I will never forget when he came to the Saints. He wasn’t ready for the NFL, emotionally, at that time though. Ben Johnson wanted to beat Carl Lewis so bad that he cheated and then laughed about it. Lol. I watched another doc on Usain Bolt recently on Netflix that was pretty good. The Score (starring Robert Deniro) is a damn good film that’s also on Netflix.

      • The Ricky Williams episode was really good. He’s an interesting guy. You’re right, it took him a while to be ready to play in the NFL. I just saw the Usain Bolt doc. It was okay. I really wanted just a little more insight into the world of track and field. I’ve seen The Score. It was good. Angela Bassett was in that too. Lol@Ben Johnson. He’s a trip.

        Check out a film called 30 Beats on Netflix, Don.

  5. Thanks for the recommendations Val, I’ll be checking these out soon. Even though I’m not a sports fan at all, I really enjoy the 30 for 30 series. I’ve also seen ‘Religulous’ and thought it was pretty good. I felt uncomfortable watching it at times though because it felt like Maher was mocking religious folks, plus he’s just so damn smug lol. I understand that he’s a comedian and being smug is kinda his schtick, but I think there’s a way to get your point across without making fun of others.

    • Yeah, I noticed that too with Religuious. I was hoping that most of those uncomfortable moments were the product of editing and that those moments weren’t really as awkward as they seemed.

      I really enjoy those 30 for 30 docs too. They’re really just as much about history as sports.

      If you have any recommendations for me let me know! 🙂

  6. I’ve seen World Unseen and loved it. You should check out(if you have not already) I Can’t Think Straight with Sheetal Seth and Lisa Ray. I love them on the screen together!

    • I’ve seen both films. And I agree, Sheetal and Lisa have great chemistry. I didn’t like I Can’t Think Straight as much as The World Unseen. It was really clicheish at times. But, Sheetal’s and Lisa’s performances made it worth watching.

  7. I’ve been meaning to peruse through Netflix more often. I recently started watching Freakonomics on there (people tell me the book is better). I also have been meaning to see the movie with Zoe Kravitz (which either you or Nicole wrote a review on, I can’t recall) on there. I am more inclined to watch documentaries because they tend to be short and sweet (I be older now and can’t stay up like I used to). I recently watched a documentary about international adoption- it’s called ‘Somewhere Between’ the filmmakers were inspired to make the film after adopting a daughter from China. It was a pretty emotional film to me, I would recommend.

    • Lol@you being older and can’t stay up late. The truth is I watch a lot of docs because they tend to be short too. And also because I like learning stuff.

      ‘Twas me that reviewed Yelling to the Sky. Good film.

      I’ll look for that doc, thanks. 🙂

      • Ehh. I wanted to Yell to the Sky after watching that movie. So many silent moments where I didn’t know wha de hell was going on. lol I didn’t know how to feel about it.

      • Really? The only scene that confused me was the opening scene when they had the fight. I was confused about who her sisters where.

        Anyway, sorry you didn’t enjoy it. What did you think of Zoe’s performance?

  8. Saw Religious a Unguarded. Both really good docs. I have to check out your other recommendations. The ESPN films are really well done. I think I’ve watched them all.

    Check out:

    Luv
    Take This Waltz
    The Fab Fab documentary
    The U
    Cabin In The Woods
    Detachment
    Safety Not Guaranteed
    Benji
    Blue Valentine
    Killer Instinct 1 & 2

    • I’ve been thinking about watching Safety Not Included. I think the U will be interesting. I’ll look up the others. Thanks, Jason! 🙂

      Happy summer to you!

  9. Do you like series? I still haven’t started “Orange..” but I wanted to recommend “Touch”..it’s about a father (Keifer Sutherland) and his autistic son who only communicates through numbers. Thought you may like it.

    • You mean Orange is the New Black? It’s entertaining. But, it definitely has some serious flaws.

      Wasn’t that on FOX for a minute? I saw previews for it I think. I’ll check it out. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

