Flashback Friday: Alicia Keys!

Today is AK’s birthday! She turns 32 today. So, for this week’s Flashback Friday I am featuring Alicia Keys! Happy birthday, Alicia!

(2001) Fallin’

In April 2001 Alicia Keys released her debut single, “Fallin'”, from the album, “Songs in A Minor“. “Fallin‘” topped Billboard’s Hot 100 for six weeks. The song won Grammys for Song of the Year, Best R&B Song and Best Female R&B Vocal Performance. AK also won Grammys for Best New Artist and Best R&B Album that year.

(2003) Diary

In 2003 AK released her second album, “The Diary of Alicia Keys“. The third single from that album was, “Diary“. The song peaked at number 8 on the Billboard Hot 100 and number two on the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs chart. And although “Diary” never topped the charts, it is one of her most iconic songs. And, my favorite song by her.

(2007) No One

No One” is the first single from AK’s third (Studio) album “As I Am“. It was released in September 2007. “No One” became Alicia’s second number one solo single and her most successful single ever. The song topped several charts, including the Billboard Hot 100 for five consecutive weeks and the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs for ten consecutive weeks.

No One” was ranked at number forty-two on The Billboard Hot 100 All-Time Top Songs and number fourteen on the Top Billboard Hot 100 R&B/Hip-Hop Songs. In 2009 the song was placed at number six on the Billboard Hot 100 decade-end chart.

No One” was also the most listened to song on U.S. radio of 2008 with 3.08 billion listeners. The song has sold over 3 million paid downloads in the United States and over 5.6 million digital copies worldwide.

The song won Best Female R&B Vocal Performance and Best R&B Song at the 2008 Grammy Awards.

What is your favorite AK song?

20 thoughts on “Flashback Friday: Alicia Keys!

  1. Had no idea Keys was 32, still relatively young and much more to add to her musical accomplishments. Not to mention how (even more) physically fit she appears. Beautiful and fine.

    Have you heard the latest album? I dig the collab with Maxwell.

    • A Woman’s Worth is probably my fave Alicia Keys song. Funny story: My then-girlfriend used to say these words to me like “a woman will find a man who knows her worth” and I had no idea until I heard the song down the line. Lol.

      • I agree with Don, when I hear that song…it reminds me that I should not sell myself short or settle. I was just thinking that I really, really miss her old music. I have not heard her first album front and back, but I remember liking that song that goes “I think I’m jealous of your girlfriend…” And in terms of videos, I liked the one she did with Method Man: “If I ain’t Got You” It was gritty and raw with emotions, and pays great homage to New York City…and reminded me of a present day “You’re All I need.”

      • That was a hot vid. Method Man is one of the few rappers I really like.

        I think you’re talking about her song, “Girlfriend”. It’s on her first album, “Songs in A Minor”.

      • Yeah, that’s one of her best songs. I love that she writes her own music. It means so much more than just picking songs that someone else wrote.

  2. NOT a Alicia Keys Fan!!!!!
    Not denying Her Talents becuz the Fact that SHE Actually Writes and Produces (Not her team PAYING People-Off for That Claim…) impresses me THOROUGHLY

    I started disliking HER when she won all those Grammys for her Debut Album which was Soooo UNDESERVING becuz Other Females that year had Much Better Albums IMO Go Back and check the Other Nominees in Her Category

    She was The INDUSTRY “IT” GIRL and THEY wanted her win those awards… And I was Highly PISSED that becuz of THAT FACT More Deserving Artists got pushed to the side (Forgive Me for MY PASSION in This Regard Darling…) #LOL

    BTW That “Unthinkable” is a MF-ing JAM Though!!!!!

    • Hey, ELove!

      AK hating is not allowed on this blog! Lol. So stop it!

      I disagree. Her first album is a future classic. She deserved all of those Grammys, IMO. I mean, if not her then who should have won that year? India. Arie? Where is she now? Nelly Furtado? She’s going to be a judge on The Voice.

      AK deserves every award she has!

Leave a Reply

