The Beast

I watched the Presidential Inauguration yesterday. I wasn’t really interested in all of the speeches nor the parade or what the First Lady was wearing. What interested me was the Presidential limo. The Secret Service calls it, “The Beast”.

 Here are some interesting facts about The Beast

– The Beast is a 2009 model based on the Cadillac DTS, on the outside. Otherwise it is based on a GM Chevy kodiak truck.

– Many body components are sourced from a variety of Cadillac vehicles. The Beast uses Cadillac Escalade headlights, side mirrors and door handles. The tail of the limo uses the taillights and back up lights from the Cadillac STS sedan.

– It’s estimated cost is $300,000 but, I think this thing cost at least 5 million dollars.

– It has night vision

– Blood of the President’s type is stored in the trunk

– It’s license plate number is 800 002 and is a Washington D.C. plate that reads, “No Taxation Without Representation

– It can deploy tear gas

– It can be sealed air-tight and has its own oxygen supply

– Its heavily armored and can withstand a rocket propelled grenade attack as well as heavy gunfire

– Its top speed is only about 60 mph and gets only 8 miles per gallon

– The doors are as heavy as a Boeing 757 cabin door, with 8-inch thick armor plating.

– Its made of Steel, Aluminum, titanium and ceramic materials

– Many outside body components are sourced from a variety of Cadillac vehicles. The limo uses Cadillac Escalade headlights, side mirrors and door handles. The tail of the car uses the taillights and back up lights from the Cadillac STS sedan.

Would you like to have a “Beast” of your own?

Do you agree that the Beast cost more than $300,000?

10 thoughts on “The Beast

  1. I know that there are a lot of guys out there into cars, but I’m just not one of them. In the last 20 years, I’ve only driven two. I used to have a Thunderbird that I drove for almost 10 years until I totalled it when a herd of deer decided to cross the interstate in New Jersey one night. And the Camry I’m driving now is dependable as hell. But sometime this year, I’ll be buying my next 10 year car. I’m leaning towards a Mustang or a Jeep, still haven’t decided yet.

    Interestingly enough, yesterday I did catch a glimpse of “the beast”; and I commented to someone that it’s meant to protect the president. I remembered reading somewhere that it was bullet proof and rocket proof; and the way there are people in this country that hate him, he needs it.

    I know he likes to walk around in the open, but that’s probably not a good idea.

    Nah, I don’t want a beast, I’m good.

  2. Yes, I read upon this car a few years back and thought to myself that any bomb-proof vehicle is gonna cost more than $300,000. I then went back and looked at the vehicle Ronald Reagan rode…and couldn’t believe it. Lol. Technology has come a long and expensive ways since the early 80s.

    I wouldn’t want a beast car. Too much attention.

    • Yeah, when I was researching the Beast I came across info about the old Presidential cars and you’re right, they’ve come a long way. And remember, Kennedy rode in a car with no top.

      I wouldn’t mind having one myself. Lol.

  3. Would I want a beast of my own? Hehehehehe…er…yeah..in more ways than one…I sure could use a beast right about now ;)))) Just kidding. and Nah I want a jeep just like you. My daughter and I both love them!

Leave a Reply

