Flashback Friday: 1993

This week for Flashback Friday I thought that we would check out three number 1 hits from 1993.

By 1993 hip hop was well on its way to dominating the R&B charts. And on February 20th of that year a rap group Naughty By Nature from New Jersey hit number 1 with “Hip Hop Hooray“.

The music video to the song was directed by Spike Lee. Queen Latifah and Monie Love appeared in the video. “Hip Hop Hooray” spent one week and number 1.

Despite the rise of hip hop in the early 1990’s, R&B was still strong. And, R&B groups were hot. The next number 1 single of 1993 we’ll check out is “Weak” by the trio SWV (Sisters with Voices). The song hit number 1 on July 3 and remained at the top of the R&B chart for two weeks.

On Christmas Day 1993, then 17 year old, singer Tevin Campbell hit number 1 with the song “Can We Talk“. The song was written and produced by Babyface and spent three weeks at number 1.

Do you remember these songs?
Did you jam to these songs?

8 thoughts on “Flashback Friday: 1993

  1. Seems like so long ago. I remember jammin’ Hip Hop Hooray to no end. SWV was a solid group and the Tevin Campbell song I’ve rocked like no other is Round and Round.

    Just from the brief moment I click on Naughty’s video and listened, I was able to capture the vibe of yesteryear. I love old school Hip Hop music.

  2. What ever happened to Tevin Campbell? My brothers were big Naughty by Nature fans. I liked their music but, I never purchased any. SWV was a great group. My daughter listens to their songs now. Didn’t they get back together?

    • I think Tevin had some drug problems, BC. Yep, SWV just got back together. I think they released a single about a month ago. I’m not sure how it did.

Leave a Reply

