To 2012 I say, Auf Wiedersehen, Ciao, Salaam, Joi gin, Khoda hafaz, Näkemiin, À bientôt, Aloha, Namasté, Farvel, Do svidanja, Cuídate, Kwaheri, Goodbye and don’t let the doorknob hit ya’ on the way out!!

Well, 2012 is almost over and it feels like just in time. It was a decent year overall but I doubt I’ll be doing a lot of reminiscing about this past year much in the future.

There were, however, some notable things about 2012. Here are a few of them.

Music

There really are only three songs that were released this year that I will continue to listen to and will mean something to me in future years. The first is “Play” by Goapele. It is just such a smooth, almost meditative song. And the second is “Adorn” by Miguel. That song’s vocals and sound are reminiscent of classic R&B but with a modern production feel. Last mention goes to The Alabama Shakes and their song “Hold On“. The vocals on that song are best described as, wow!

Sport

I really enjoyed the London Olympics despite NBC’s lousy coverage. Gabby Douglas is so cute! I wanted to put her in my pocket. And she rocked the house winning overall Gold in gymnastics. My favorite athlete, Lolo Jones, didn’t win Gold but she showed the incredible heart that I admire about her for making the U.S. Team and then after losing her event, the hurdles, she displayed the grace that she showed in Beijing in 2008. And now she’s found herself a new career on the U.S. Bobsled Team!

Politics

The Presidential election was disappointing in many ways. The candidates managed to avoid talking about many of the most important issues facing this country, such as poverty, record breaking incarceration, Global Warming and Marriage Equality.

The candidates lived in a bubble created by the mainstream media and big money, leaving the average American feeling like the spectators that we have truly become in the political process.

The candidate who was the lesser of two evils, Barack Obama, won, thankfully. His victory was partly due to having all of his campaigning ducks in a row and that he faced a lousy opponent, Mitt Romeny.

But, as 2012 comes to a close those idiots in Washington are once again proving that their allegiance is to big money rather than the American people. They continue to play a game of nobody wins politics even as the Nation faces another financial collapse, if they don’t get their jobs done.

There’s a big debate about gun control in America at the moment. And I support reasonable gun control but as I see what’s going on in Washington maybe we do need our guns. A revolution might be in order.

Film

This wasn’t a great year for film, in my opinion. Most of the films released these days are aiming at the lowest common denominator. There were a couple of bright spots however. The ones that stood out the most to me were led by the amazing breakthrough film, “Pariah“.

The second film I loved this year was, “A Kiss Of Chaos“.

And the final film that I really liked was, “The Mortician“.

Marriage Equality

Thankfully this country continues to make progress on the issue of Same Gender Marriage. We still have a very long way to go but, at this moment Same Gender Marriage is legal in nine States and the District of Columbia. And it is expected that the U.S. Supreme Court will rule on the issue sometime in 2013.

Television

For the most part TV continues to suck. There are a few shows on cable that I hear are pretty good but I don’t have cable so I’m stuck watching over the air TV. The bright spot for me has been being able to view the series Unsung on dvd. The show airs on TV One. It’s an amazing series for a music lover like me. The best episodes so far are Unsung: Phyllis Hyman, Unsung: Teddy Pendergrass, Unsung: Ray Parker, Jr., Unsung: Vesta. I still have a whole lot of episodes to see and I can’t wait to see them!

Food

I learned how to cook rice in 2012! And I am darned good at it! I can cook long grain, brown and even jasmine!  🙂 Sadly though just as I learned to cook rice some new study came out (don’t you hate studies) saying that most rice is contaminated with arsenic. 😦

What was notable about 2012 for you?
Are you happy to say goodbye to 2012?

12 thoughts on “To 2012 I say, Auf Wiedersehen, Ciao, Salaam, Joi gin, Khoda hafaz, Näkemiin, À bientôt, Aloha, Namasté, Farvel, Do svidanja, Cuídate, Kwaheri, Goodbye and don’t let the doorknob hit ya’ on the way out!!

  1. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your 2012, even if it’s not all that memorable Val. 2012 was a very bad year for me, I’m hoping for better in 2013.

    I think I first heard about Pariah on your blog. I checked it out and enjoyed it. I thought it was a very good movie. A kiss of chaos looks interesting too,I just might have to check that out as well.

    I’m glad you learned how to make rice, that’s one thing that was easy for me. I like to cook, I always did though.

    I don’t want to remember this year, I’m not sure I even want to talk about it. Suffice it to say, I’m just glad it’s over.

    • If you see A Kiss of Chaos please let me know what you thought of it. One of my favorite actors, Judy Marte, is in it. I’m glad you liked Pariah. 🙂

      Making rice has change my life! Lol

      Sorry you had a bad 2012, Reggie. I hope you have a happy 2013. 🙂

  2. Hi Val, glad to hear about the rice. I totally agree about the ‘Adorm’ track it was one of my favourites. 2012 was a year of change, I expect more of the same in 2013 but I’m looking forward to it. Wishing you all the best in New Year x

    • Yep, I think you are right about 2013 being a year of change. Let’s hope it’s positive change. Thanks and I wish you the same! Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  3. Hey Lav, can I call you that? lol I thought I would try something new for 2013. You can call me Ehs. I’m so glad Miguel made the list! I found some other great artist (mostly from other bloggers including Lianne La Havas) I’ve also been hearing a lot about Kendrick Lamarr and although I got his album I just haven’t taken the time to listen to the rap. I’ve also become a big fan of DC’s own Wale and Frank Ocean- the Orange album is pretty amazing. Thanks for introducing me to some new music (I hadn’t heard the other tracks you listed).
    It’s weird but for some reason this year I can’t remember much of what I watched or what I read. I have not heard of the movies you listed, but in terms of Hollywood movies I did enjoy watching Looper and the Puss in Boots. lol My mom is a big animated film fan and I ended up enjoying the movie. To TV I would add #Scandal (which is on Netflix and season 2 is on abc.com until the new season starts!), everyone talks about this show and now I see why. Washington was made for that role!
    Yea for rice! Learning a new food is always fun! I have a rice cooker that does it all for me, but I’ve cut back on cooking rice recently.
    Happy New Year! I can’t wait to see what 2013 has in store for you!

    • Lol, Okay, Ehs.

      Miguel made my list because of you. I saw Lianne La Havas on Letterman, she was really good. I also meant to get into Emeli Sande in 2012 but I somehow forgot about her. I’ve heard of Kendrick Lamar but I’m not sure if I’ve ever heard his music.

      Lol@you seeing Puss in Boots. 🙂

      Yeah, I keep hearing about Scandal. For some reason I just haven’t watched it.

      A rice cooker would be really convenient, especially one that can be set to come on at a particular time. I’d also like to learn how to cook with a slow cooker. Maybe in 2013?!

      Thanks and I wish you continued success in school in 2013 and a whole lot of happiness!

  4. Who’d ever forget that you learned the art of cooking rice this year. Lol. I laughed aloud once I reached that portion of your post. Hilarious.

    Olympics were entertaining, track and field mostly.

    I like how you expressed thankfulness for President Obama being re-elected and not Romney. The lesser of two evils…eh, you do have a point, but let’s not debate and bring in the new year with warmth and laughter. Lol.

    Unsung. Love it.

  5. May the New Year ring in for you and your loved ones many blessings, health,happiness and love!

    This past year was very enjoyable for me because I got to practice cake decorating quite often and I learnt a bunch of new things! I feel blessed to have survived the big C and I never would have thought that my life would take a turn towards cake making of all things!:)

    So I know you can turn into a top notch cook 🙂

    I’m immensely thankful for having found these blogs and you as my friend.

    Hoping and praying we can progress together many more years. Have a happy,happy!

    • I am so happy that you are doing better! That’s a true blessing. And your cake decorating is an inspiration to me. When I see how hard you have worked and how amazing you are at it, that makes me want to strive to do amazing things as well.

      I’m glad we found each other too! It’s been fun to share so much through our blogs. 🙂

      I hope you and your family and your puppies have a great 2013 filled with love, happiness and contentment!

      Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

