10 Things that…

So, today I am writing about stuff that I’ve been thinking about lately. Here goes.

Awards for thieves

10. I’m really not looking forward to hearing about a fake Prince and a fake Princess, giving birth to a fake heir to a fake throne. ABC World News Lite with Diane Sawyer actually had the audacity to lead their broadcast on Monday with the news of the conception of the fake heir. Look, if the Brits like having fake royals, then great for them. But, why must we Americans be tortured with non-news about them?

09. And speaking of fake Brits. Led Zeppelin was honored by President Barack Obama at a White House reception recently. Which made me think of something that I’ve been thinking about lately. That is; in America you can be a lowlife and still hobnob with truly talented people and be considered successful. Led Zeppelin sold millions of albums by stealing music from Black blues artists. Zeppelin never gave any sort of attribution to the Blues artists nor paid them any money. If you own a Led Zeppelin album then you own an album that contains stolen music. Shame on President Obama for honoring thieves.

Here is a list of just a few of the songs Zeppelin stole;

– “Whole Lotta Love”
– “Moby Dick”
– “Stairway To Heaven”
– “Whole Lotta Love”
– “Dazed And Confused”
– “Communication Breakdown”

08. And now music from an artist with actual talent. Here is a great new song from Alicia Keys! It’s called “When It’s All Over“. It’s from her new album. Check it out!

07. Is anyone else sick of so-called ‘viral videos‘? I mean they have become too viral. If something appears on the evening network news then it’s too viral. Back in the day you’d hear about a video from a friend and check it out. Now they’re everywhere. On the news, facebook, TV morning shows, TV talk shows, everywhere! Is a viral video a viral video if it’s in the mainstream media?

06. AK is covering the January Essence Magazine! 🙂 I haven’t purchased Essence in a long time but I’m going to buy this one!

05. I was really trying to like the adult cartoon Family Guy. But, just when I’m really getting into it they throw in some racist hipster humor. I’m really getting tired of racist hipster humor on TV. Shows like 30 Rock on NBC are full of this type of so-called humor. They think they can get away with it because the humor is supposed to be ironic. The problem is though, it’s not the least bit ironic. It’s just racist.

03. Does anyone else get depressed during the 2 or 3 weeks before Christmas? It really sucks. I think I’m actually on the verge of hating Christmas. It’s just such a dreary holiday unless you are either a kid or have a big family to spend it with. I try to get myself hyped about it but it usually doesn’t work for more than a day or two. I wish I could figure out a way to ignore Christmas.

02. I am in love with cream cheese. Lol. I’ve been putting it on bagels and on raisin toast. It’s great? Do you like it?

01. My favorite TV show at the moment is TV One’s Unsung. That is such a great show! I love music, as you know, and I have learned so much about music artists by watching that show. What’s my favorite episode you ask? I have two; Phyllis Hyman and Teddy Pendergrass. But, I’ve only seen about 7 episodes so far. What do you think of the show?

16 thoughts on “10 Things that…

  1. Val I have a hard time being offended by Seth McFarlane when he makes fun of everyone, even himself.

    What’s surprised me about Family Guy is the level of violence that’s gone on in a couple of episodes I’ve seen……now that’s been surprising to me.

    • Yeah but, making fun of White people is different from making fun of Black people and other People of Color. Whites and Blacks hold different places in the world and have very different histories.

      Yep, it’s violent. Especially Stewie plotting to kill his mother. Lol.

  2. Val. Nice to see you again.
    I’m not a tv lover but yes, racist humour is getting tiring.
    Cream cheese?

    Once in a while on raisin toast.

    And ALL white singers…country, rock and roll and pop stole music from us.

    • Thanks!

      Yep, it’s old and trite.

      I have some fancy raisin bread to go with it. It’s so good!

      True, but, Zeppelin is one of the worst offenders ever.

  3. Oh my!! Welcome back. So geeked. lool

    About the cream cheese, I used to LOOOOVE it, ate so much of it, got tired. Haven’t had it in YEARS. Now, that I read your post, makes me want to have a bagel and cream cheese spread. Ever try the blueberry kind, girrrrrrrl…….heavenlicious.

    • Thanks, AM! It’s good to be back, so far. 🙂

      The store only had strawberry and plain. I don’t like strawberry in general so I have been getting plain. But, I’ll look for blueberry, it sounds good.

  4. Thank you, thank you, thank you for mentioning Led Zeppelin! They should have their copyrights stripped post-haste. What they did is horrible, and in a just world, there would be a special place in hell for them.

    • Hey, Todd!

      Yep, they are ruthless thieves and should be behind bars. They truly disgust me. Unfortunately the accolades just keep rolling in for them. So sad.

      • A couple of artists sued them. It took years for them to get any money. They didn’t get much and they never got any attribution. Most of the artists they stole from had passed away.

  5. I remember mentioning a while back on your blog getting into Phyllis Hyman through her “Unsung” episode. A few were on YouTube a while back. I watched Minnie Riperton, Klymaxx, Teena Marie, and DeBarge. The DeBarge one was so depressing.

    I too love cream cheese. Have you tried the spinach artichoke Philly one? It’s pretty good.

    And I’m not a fan of “Family Guy” either. Haven’t watched that mess in years.

    • Yep, the Debarge episode was sad. Actually quite of few of them are sad. I’m going to try to check a few more of the episodes out this weekend.

      Spinach cream cheese? Wow, that’s interesting. If I see it I will check it out.

  6. 08-like the funky beat to the song. I have to listen to the whole album soon, hopefully it’s on Grooveshark so I can sample it.
    07- She looks hot, mostly she reminds me of Paula Patton in that photo too.
    05- I’ve never been a fan of Family Guy, I do watch American Dad- but they can be kind of racist on that show too.
    02- I’m lactose intolerant so I can only eat sparingly. I think I prefer sour cream. I can have that on bread in the morning.
    01- *adds to TO WATCH list* I think we’ve talked about this before, especially the DeBarge fam.

    • You can listen to the whole album on youtube if you can’t find it.

      Alicia is much prettier than that Paula Patton person. 🙂

      All of those Fox cartoons are racist. The only one that wasn’t was King of the Hill.

      Sour cream on bread?

      I am so hooked on Unsung!

  7. I don’t watch any of Seth’s stuff. I just could never get into them.
    I love unsung but, I’m having a hard time finding episodes. The guy that used to upload them to youtube stopped doing it and dish network doesn’t have it. My favorite one was Donny Hathaway…the man was a tormented genius. And I really liked the one about Ray Parker Jr. because, his story was so intriguing to me.. I really learned a lot about him.

    • Yeah, Donny Hathaway’s story was very sad. I just saw the episode about Vesta. It was so sad how she died so suddenly. The episodes are hard to find for me too. I don’t have cable so I’ve been getting them from someone at the flea market on dvd. Lol.

Leave a Reply

