10 Things I want for Christmas

Well, Christmas is just around the corner. I know this not because of the falling leaves or the Winter chill or because Thanksgiving has come and gone but because all the crazies were out on Black Friday.

I understand that most people want stuff and want a nice discount to go along with it but shopping on Black Friday is just crazy.

Anyway, since Christmas is just a few weeks away I thought it would be fun to compile a list of my 10 most wanted gifts for Christmas. And, maybe, just maybe, my girlfriend Santa will see my list and put a little something under my Charlie Brown Christmas tree!

So here goes.

10. I would like it if this country could find a way to house the homeless.
09. I would like the President to actually pay some Presidential attention to Black Americans, many of whom are suffering more than most during this recession.
08. I would like all foods containing Genetically Modified products to be labelled.
07. I would like a Easy Bake oven for adults because baking is hard!
07. I would like Chamique Holdsclaw’s memoir, “Breaking Through: Beating The Odds Shot After Shot”
06. I would like Beyonce to retire from show business.
06. I would like global warning to become a priority in this country.
05. I would like AK’s husband to decide he wants to be a Buddhist Monk.**
05. I would like absolute peace on the entire African continent.
03. I would like PBS to be defunded.
03. I would like Robin Roberts to have a speedy recovery.
02. I would like to never hear the song Gangnam Style ever again.
02. I would like same gender marriage to be legal everywhere in this country!

and…

01. I would like a Vespa scooter!

What 10 things do you want for Christmas?

**Since I mentioned Alicia Keys in this post I had an excuse to post another pic of her. 🙂

15 thoughts on “10 Things I want for Christmas

  1. A Vespa? I’ve been wanting one for years since way back when I was a SoCal Rude Boy. I’d have no use for one now here in Texas but I still wish I had one.

  2. Ya know Val, maybe it’s my age; but I really can’t think of anything that I want for Christmas. I’m not even gonna say any of that peace on Earth, good will towards men bullshit.

    I’m at a loss.

    Interestingly enough, the company that I work for provides a meal for women and children and veterans in a homeless shelter in Charleston, South Carolina (where I live), once a month. We feed them on the last Tuesday of the month. Last night we fed them fried chicken and pork chops (yeah it’s the south), chicken and rice (yeah we like feeding them chicken), macaroni and cheese (yeah ain’t that fattening as hell), cabbage, dressing (yeah it’s the holidays) and peach cobbler. I always look forward to going. Next month it will fall on Christmas night and I will be there with bells on Val.

    • I still wish for peace, Reggie. Even if it’s idealistic and unlikely ever to happen.

      That’s great that your company does that. And it’s not just those who are fed who benefit. Those who are giving are getting just as much by giving.

      And If I’m ever in Charleston on the last Tuesday of the month I know where I’m going to be eating! 🙂 Sounds good!

  3. All I wanted was an old Silver Surfer comic book and my girlfriend’s son bought it for me. I didn’t tell him I wanted it – he just overheard me talking about it so much that he looked for it and bought it. After that – this year I got all I wanted.

  4. Yay! Val’s back! I can’t think of anything I want either. My family is bugging me to make a list but, I just can’t think of anything. Oh wait! I would love the gift of getting restful sleep at night…my insomnia seems to be getting worse.

    • Hiya, BC!

      *BIG hug*

      Yep, I’m back! I was having a bout of insomnia too. I decided to just go with it. I’d get up and do stuff. After about a week or two of that my insomnia got tired and quit. Lol.

      I’m sure you can come up with something for your Xmas list.

  5. I don’t like that Gangnam song either! and especially that mans voice, don’t know why but I find it totally repulsive! ugh! It sounds just like he’s repeating the Spanish version of the c word.

    I hope Santa parks that scooter under your tree 🙂 It’s a great list, we can only hope and pray for the peace on earth part, it seems violence is innate in man.

    I haven’t seen any updates on Robin. But I pray she’s keeping strong! It’s a tough thing she’s going through.

    • I just saw a promo on TV saying Robin is going to be on Good Morning America on Monday. I think they are doing some kind of interview with her at home. So that sounds like she’s doing okay.

      That song reminds me of that Macarana song and dance that was so popular and then was kind of a joke.

      • Yes, it does remind me of that song! Thanks for the info, I’m going to watch Robin, I’m praying for her, I know what she’s going through!

  6. Well, Val is back so there goes one wish! 🙂
    9 more.
    1. I would like my mommy to stop being the sole breadwinner of her household.
    2. I would like to make a B in my Neuro class, and 4 A’s in the rest of my classes.
    3. I would like to meet and make friends that are consistent in my life.
    4. I would like Costa Rica to make it to the World Cup.
    5. I would like the heat in my room to do its job so I don’t have to wear 2 layers to go to sleep.
    6. I would like to own a car this time next year.
    7. I would like deaths to be banned around holidays.
    8. I would to stop settling and be more honest with those around me.
    9. I would to know what I should be writing a book about, so I can get started.

    That’s all!

    • Lol@9 more. 🙂

      Nice list. I’m pretty sure number 2 will happen. Number 3 is a constant struggle for most people, I think. #7, yeah, that’s always bad. It taints all of the holidays to come. I can’t wait to read your book, no matter what it’s about!

  7. I didn’t want anything for Christmas. I bought a few things for my apartment for the New Year.

    Why do you want PBS to be defunded? That was funny to me.

    I want AK to come out of the closet, lol. I used to have a such a crush on her when she first came out and I thought she was gay. i’m going to find the picture that I thought “confirmed” it. lol

    • You mean that photo of Alicia where she’s dressed like a stud with a suit on? Lol

      PBS: Because PBS isn’t diverse at all. According to the mandate of PBS/ NPR, it is supposed to give a voice to those that don’t have voices in the mainstream and that’s why they get our tax dollars. So since they do not do what they promised, they ought to be defunded.

Leave a Reply

